How to make: a pin box / cushion

26 Apr
b19I had an empty moisturiser jar and wondered what to do with it. It was too nice to just throw out. So I got out my fabrics and ribbons and after a couple of hours I’d made a pin box / cushion in one! (See photo).

If you would like to have a go at this craft project, just follow the photos I’ve taken at each step together with some written instructions.

 

For the jar

b01
First you need an empty and clean moisturiser jar with the sticky labels removed.

b02
You can choose matching or clashing fabrics for the bottom and lid of the jar. Cut a strip of fabric to size to wrap round the jar.

b03
Choose an appropriate crafting glue – I used Pritt Stick; smear glue round the outside of the jar and wrap the fabric strip round, pressing firmly down to fix.

b04
It should look like this 😉

b05
Next you want to sort out the lid.  With the fabric chosen for the lid, turn it upside down and draw round the lid.  Cut out the circle and glue to the top of the lid.  * Tip *  You might need to trim a little excess off round the circle so the fabric sits within the lid.

b06

b07

So it looks like this 🙂

b08
Choose a ribbon – measure how much you need by winding it round the rim of the lid.

b09
Glue it down so it looks like this…

b10
So far the jar and lid ought to look like this.  * Tip * If you fancied having just a little box without the pin cushion top, you could add a bow to the top of the lid for a nice finish.

For the pin cushion

b11
I found for my jar which measured 2 and a quarter inches across the lid, I needed quite a large piece of fabric for the pin cushion – so I drew round a cake plate on the reverse of the fabric.

b12
After cutting out this large circle I sewed with a long running stitch (large stitches so they can be bunched up) half an inch from the edge.

b13
It should look like this, preferably without the creases! * blush *

b14
Carefully, without breaking the sewing thread (as I did) pull the thread so the fabric bunches up into a kind of ball; then, with some kind of filling (I used white fluffy stuff used for stuffing teddy bears etc) fill the bunched up fabric. You will need copious amounts for a nice big firm cushion remember!

b15
…to look something like this.

b16
Sew up the gap to tidy it up.

b17
The jar is perfect for keeping pins and thimble!

b18
On card, cut out a small circle, one and a half inches across. This next bit is a bit tricky, but it can be done!: Sew the card circle over the gap seams to afix to the pin cushion.

I then used a strong glue (super glue) to fix the pin cushion to the jar lid.For embellishment, I added a bow in the same pink gingham fabric as that used for the jar 🙂b191

8 Responses to “How to make: a pin box / cushion”

  1. John Vasiliou April 26, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    I love you. 🙂

  2. Faith April 26, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    I love you too 😡

  3. Sue April 27, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Easy when you know how! That looks fabulous. I see I’m on your blogroll – thanks for that. Hope you continue to enjoy visiting!

    Sue

    • Faith April 27, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

      Thank you – and thanks for visiting! 🙂 I love your blog, I often look at it 😀

  4. Molly April 29, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    This is so cute! What a great idea for reusing those containers.

    • Faith April 29, 2009 at 11:09 am #

      I’m glad you like it 😀

  5. ljcillustration July 19, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    Pretty & useful pin cushion & recycled stuff too – great

  6. Elaine Rainbird August 1, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Steph, have faith and get your ‘Projects Book’ into print, with those clear and precise instructions you’de have a ‘best-seller’ in no time. Great idea, I’m going to have a go myself now.

Leave a Reply

