Making Soft Toys

30 Dec

Because of living with chronic pain and unable to do much physically, and needing to keep sane(!) I started stitching.

My embroided design of Ladybird Mum and Child, inspired by a 1920's style metal ladybird - - - 2009

I started with fat quarters printed with all kinds of designs and made cushions.  I even made a special cushion, a kind of scrapbooking technique of applique and x stitch; a gift for my cousin.

Scrapbooking kind of cushion for my cousin.

I X stitched (cross stitched) a lot, something I used to do in my mid 20’s (I am a late starter to stitching, never had the confidence until that point!) and started creating my own designs.

One of my X stitch designs, stitched up: Baby Tortoise. (You can find the free pattern on my blog).

I also made / make bags

A knitting bag I made for an online friend in a craft swap.

My Hermann tortoise, Daisy Elizabeth inspired me into making many soft toy tortys!

The First Soft Toy Tortoise I made, 2007

But I didn’t just create tortoises, I made a dog (Chester the Jack Russell is behind that one I think), dolls, assorted sea creatures, zombie and bunnies.

Floral Scotty Dog, 2009

A few of my Soft Toy creations are for sale at The Little Log Cabin, here – – – and soon here.

For those of you interested in having a go yourself at soft toy and doll making I searched the net and came across this free fun tutorial by Octavia.

Make toys like Octavia

More Interesting Links for Soft Toy Making – – –

Materials for making soft toys at Fred Aldous (for UK residents)

More inspiration (and differing styles) from… Louie Louie Bebe ; and, Salley Mavor ; and, Kitty Pink Stars.

Perhaps the most famous antique collectors’ toys, Steiff (UK).

I’m so excited, will be getting this book any day now! 😛

For sale @ The Little Log Cabin

One Response to “Making Soft Toys”

  1. SOFT TOYS January 16, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    There are so many companies making so many types of toys for every age of children. Making lovely toys by ourselves is so nice and it develops our creativity too. Your made cushions are so nice and i will go to The Little Log Cabin for some other nice stuffs.

Leave a Reply

