Soft Toy Books

16 Jan

I’ve ordered a couple more soft toy books: Soft Toys to Sew by Sheila McGraw; and a 1953 copy of Decorative Soft Toy Making by Enid Edwards

I spent a couple of hours researching the net with what was on offer and found it rather difficult deciding on a book due to the lack of customer / reader reviews and absence of photos of book covers and / or of examples of projects.  What I found really annoying is that the online stores and  the traditional, physical stores of the same bookstores and supermarkets do not tally!  For example if I find a book online, how can I be sure it will be available for me in their traditional store?  Of course some traditional stores have phone numbers where you can ask if they presently have that particular book, or you could order it for collection – but then who needs that hassle?  You may as well just order from the online store.  Also, the special offers and prices are not the same.  My particular problem is that I have a (paper) gift coupon (Christmas present) and so need to shop at the physical store.

Anyway judging from positive reviews and liking the photos of what I saw I decided upon those 2 aforementioned books.  I can’t wait!  I will definitely let you know what I think of them.

Regarding the Softies book by Therese Laskey I was overjoyed: just take a look at my Maple Tree to know how impressed 😉   Many projects I loved while a few I thought ugly or even distasteful (but this is very subjective, all down to personal choice isn’t it).  And having such a broad range of modern soft toys is indeed a good thing as it promotes experimentation and imagination 🙂 

The Splendid Soft Toy Book is a goody too, with several and varied projects – – – LOVE the giant ladybird!  I found this book in my mum’s craft room 😛

Other books under consideration include: Creative Soft Toys to Sew by Creative House; Easy to Sew Playful Toys by Debra Quartermain; and, Soft Animals A to Z by Carolyn Vasburg Hall.  Either good condition, secondhand, or new (at a competitive price!).

As for the gift coupon I’ll have to make another trip into town 😉

Know of any soft toy books you would recommend?  Would love to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

