Nautical Bag

21 May

I made this medium sized shopping or beach bag for Mum. 

Nautical Applique Bag by Stephanie Faith 2010

Applique shapes I designed and cut from deep blue coloured felt (felt is great for applique as doesn’t fray, you don’t need to back or oversew the edges).  Starfish, anchor, 2 fishys…forms inspired by the deep sea.

I wanted to keep it simple:  the vertical dark blue striped fabric I found very fitting for a nautical theme; the thin gold – glittery – transparent material reminded me of sand; the simple yet bold shapes speak clearly of the sea.  Just added same blue colour sequins for fish scales and silver sequins for eyes – couldn’t not give Starfish eyes too.  Maybe I’ll add a handful of gold sequins for fish bubbles.  (T’is all too easy to over-embellish and therefore ruin).

Machine stitched bag together and stiffened the floppy top with iron on interfacing.  Also machine stitched the gold “sand” fabric, then hand-sewed the rest…running stitch inside the edge of the applique shapes and sewed on sequins.

I might include the template for the sea shapes later…do you like? 🙂

2 Responses to “Nautical Bag”

  1. Elaine May 24, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Just saw your fabulous pink owl, she? is so cute.
    I love your nautical beach bag too, hope the sea water warms up enough to be able to go for a swim. Best wishes, Elaine.

    • Curvalicious May 28, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      Thank you 🙂 Mum’s favourite colour is pink so I had to make the owl in that – I think I also used some of the felt you generously sent me. Weather has suddenly turned cooler again in Norfolk, I hope it warms up, but not too hot like last week!

Leave a Reply

