An Elephant Never Forgets

4 Aug

A joke:  What do women and elephants have in common?

The answer:  The ability to remember everything.  Or that is what men believe.

Saw this adorable elephant chair whilst at the Henry Moore exhibition.  At least I remember it was there…

Unfortunately only children and size zeros can sit on it – never mind the kids, I want one!

Poogus, Stumpwork by Stephanie Faith 2009

I used the same elephant template in Poogus as I did for Circus Elephant.  This is my first attempt at stumpwork, it’s so nice working with felts.

3 Responses to “An Elephant Never Forgets”

  1. gizmoandstitch August 7, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Oh my, I love love love that Elephant chair!! I also love love love your Elephant stumpwork. I only recently discovered what stumpwork was thanks to a book I found in the craft section of my local Oxfam shop. Fascinated I purchased the book but alas have not yet had time to try it out. Is it good fun? xx

    • Curvalicious August 7, 2010 at 11:05 am #

      Hi GizmoAndStitch 🙂
      I’m glad you like the elephant chair too, I think what a shame they don’t make more this type of fun furniture for adults too.
      Thank you – – – I really enjoyed creating that stumpwork.
      What’s the name of your book? Is it the one from Kay Dennis, Beginner’s Guide to Stumpwork? I wrote about it in an earlier blog https://mistresscurvalicious.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/a-beginners-guide-to-stumpwork/
      I would say stumpwork is far easier than the usual hand embroidery and of course less time consuming. I like adding a touch of hand embroidery and different kinds of tiny beads.
      I would love to see your stumpwork when you’re finished 🙂
      Steff xx

  2. gizmoandstitch August 7, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Yes, yes! thats the one! I have only flicked through the pages, but am desperate to give it a proper read and spend a day trying some of it out. Thank you so much for directing me to your blog post about the book and for the links to other stump work online. It’s really useful! I had never heard of it before, but the title of the book made me giggle so I simply had to pick it up for a closer look. Like you I like to add little bits of embroidery to things, and am always grateful for methods that are less time consuming! I would give my kingdom for more hours in the day! Hope your having a lovely day! xx

Leave a Reply

